FrOSCON 2009: Expanding Market Knowledge

Last weekend I was at FrOSCon in St. Augustin, Germany.

The FrOSCon is one of the three greatest open-source conferences in Germany. I thought this should be a good place to meet influencers and learn about the open-source market in general.

I got to know Dries Buytert the project lead of Drupal CMS. He held a very interesting key note about growing a (oss) community. Dries is a very nice guy, he finds a good balance between being a geek and being a great communicator. Dries is an entrepreneur also, he founded Aquia, a Drupal based startup, that wants to be to Drupal what Redhat is to Linux. I have no doubt that Dries will succeed with his company.

Dries Buytaert FrOSCON Key Note
Dries preparing his key note (shot from my Nokia N810)

I learned a lot about the my customers, that they:

  • have the problem I assume.
  • are a strong Tribe, that has clear symbols and guidelines that they live by.
  • have the same needs and desires that most people do.
  • are mostly men. Connect that to the bullet before.

Besides that I got to know a bunch of people that work in neighbor markets that could be helpful in the future.

At the end the FROSCON was a very interesting event for me, that was fun, too.

Leave a comment